National Obstetric Anaesthetists (NOA)

Guiding and supporting anaesthetists who work in obstetrics in New Zealand to provide expert care for their pregnant patients. (Photo: Chair of NOA, Dr Matthew Drake)

NOA is supported by

About us

NOA is a group of lead Obstetric Anaesthetists from DHBs throughout New Zealand.

The group is a joint initiative of NZSA and ANZCA, and meets several times throughout the year, including an annual meeting with Midwifery and Obstetric leads from New Zealand.

Regional Representatives


Dr Matthew Drake (Chair),  Dr Morgan Edwards (Deputy Chair), Dr Aidan O’Donnell (Secretary)

Regional committees will constitute representatives from each hospital in the region, and will be coordinated by the following members:

Northern Region

Anne Hart (Counties Manukau DHB), Clare Fisher (Waitemata DHB), Fiona Gilmour (Counties Manukau DHB), Matthew Drake, (Auckland DHB), Morgan Edwards (Auckland DHB), Sharon Dempsey (Northland DHB), Sophie Van Oudenaaren (Auckland DHB), Tim Parris-Piper (Waitemata DHB)


Aiden O'Donnell (Waikato DHB), Caroline Ariaens (Waikato DHB), David Freschini (Tairawhiti DHB), Denise White (Bay of Plenty DHB), Duane English (Lakes DHB), Heidi Omundsen (Bay of Plenty DHB), Michael Booth (Taranaki DHB), Pamela Eccles (Hawkes Bay DHB), Sarah Sew Hoy (Hastings), Tom Lupton (Taranaki DHB)

Central Region

Alison Davies (MidCentral DHB), Andrew Langton (Hutt Valley DHB), Ashveer Dunpath (Wairarapa DHB), Catherine Eckersley (MidCentral DHB), Dean Walsh (Capital & Coast DHB), Deborah Gardiner (Whanganui DHB), Douglas Mein (Capital & Coast DHB),  Katie Ben (Nelson), Jeff Suen (Hutt Valley DHB), Siva Arumugam (Hutt Valley DHB)

Southern Region

Daniel Mattingley (Canterbury DHB), Fungai Chikosi (Southern DHB), Graham Roper (West Coast DHB), John Wilson (Southern DHB), Nigel Skjellerup (Canterbury DHB), Samantha Paul (Nelson Marlborough DHB), Thomas Gough (South Canterbury DHB)