Join Now

Airway Leads Network

About the Airway Leads Network

The Airway Leads Network was established to foster collaboration in airway management across New Zealand. An Airway Lead is an anaesthetist who promotes safe airway management within their department and hospital. There is a nominated lead in every public hospital in New Zealand that has an anaesthesia department.

The concept of an Airway Leads Network was first initiated in the UK, following recommendations from the National Audit Project 4 (NAP 4) on airway complications (although this concept was suggested many years prior by the Difficult Airway Society in 1996). Given the constantly evolving practice of airway management and the introduction of new equipment, coordination is required to ensure training is kept up-to-date and that kit is appropriate to ensure optimal patient safety. Standardisation of kit within a hospital, training and audit/quality assurance are key roles which the Airway Lead coordinates.

If you would like any further information regarding the Airway Leads Network or have any suggestions for network members, please email the network.

Email the ALN

Airway Leads for NZ Hospitals

Dr Sheila Hart (Secretary, NZSA)

Dr Leon Cloherty (Whangarei)

Dr Subita Nobre (Waitemata)

Dr Paul Baker

Dr Paul Gardiner (Te Toka Tumai Auckland)

Dr Jeanette Scott (Counties Manukau)

Dr Kerry Holmes (Auckland Rescue Helicopter)

Dr Chris Jephcott (Waikato)

Dr Dr Patrick Wong (Waikato)

Dr Rod Gouldson (Bay of Plenty, Tauranga)

Dr Lutz Sauer (Bay of Plenty, Whakatane)

Dr Laura Kwan (Lakes, Rotorua)

Dr Germanicus Malmberg (Tairawhiti, Gisborne)

Dr Charlie Brown (Taranaki)

Dr Allanah Scott (Hawke’s Bay)

Dr Sarah Phipps (Hawke’s Bay)

Dr Derek Barrett (Whanganui)

Dr Tom O’Sullivan (Mid Central, Palmerston North)

Dr Chris Smith (Wairarapa)

Dr Peter Tobin (Capital & Coast, Hutt Valley)

Dr Adam Hollingworth (Capital & Coast, Hutt Valley)

Dr Sheila Hart (Secretary, NZSA) (Capital & Coast, Wellington)

Dr Jeremy Young (Capital & Coast, Wellington)

Dr Joe McIntyre (Nelson Marlborough, Nelson)

Dr Dave Sandford (Nelson Marlborough, Blenheim)

Dr Graham Roper (West Coast, Grey Base Hospital)

Dr Nick Abbott (Canterbury, Christchurch)

Dr Dana Hirsch (South Canterbury, Timaru)

Dr Chen Ong (Southern, Dunedin)

Dr Sana Huhtamaki (Southern, Invercargill)