Join Now

NZSA Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the NZSA is the Governing Board of the organisation.
The Executive Committee is made up of

President, Immediate Past President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary and six elected members.
Extra members can be co-opted between AGMs as per the NZSA constitution. The trainee roles are a shared portfolio.

We welcome interest from members who would like to find out how they could join the Executive and/or contribute to specific projects. Please contact

Dr Morgan Edwards Portrait
Dr Morgan Edwards
NZSA President Auckland
Dr Sheila Hart Portrait
Dr Sheila Hart
NZSA Immediate Past President Wellington
Dr Cathy Caldwell Portrait
Dr Cathy Caldwell
Treasurer and Private Practice representative Wellington
Dr Renee Franklin Portrait
Dr Renee Franklin
Executive Member Tauranga
Dr Jonathan Panckhurst Portrait
Dr Jonathan Panckhurst
Executive Member Nelson
Dr Lynette McGaughran Portrait
Dr Lynette McGaughran
Executive Member Tauranga
Dr Hannah Middleton Portrait
Dr Hannah Middleton
Trainee Rep Christchurch
Dr Sarah Tomlinson Portrait
Dr Sarah Tomlinson
Deputy Trainee Rep Waikato

NZSA President October 2022–October 2024

Morgan Edwards is a Consultant Anaesthetist at North Shore Hospital. Morgan was a previously been the NZSA Trainee Rep held the NZSA portfolio for Assistants to the Anaesthetist. She is an NZSA representative on the National Obstetric Anaesthetists network (NOA) and has produced online content to provide guidance to women on epidurals.  She also hosts our Podcast and creates and develops a lot of our patient resources.

As the President Morgan represents NZSA’s view to government agencies, represents us at various councils and committees of our affiliated organisations, and is our spokesperson for the profession, advocating for patient safety and the wellbeing of New Zealand anaesthetists.

NZSA Past President
President 2020 – 2022

Sheila Hart is a Consultant Anaesthetist at Te Whatu Ora Capital, Coast and Hutt Valley. She has been involved in various advocacy issues for the NZSA and assists in coordinating the Airway Leads Network. Sheila is the Clinical Director of the Anaesthesia and Pain Department at Wellington Regional Hospital.

Cathy Caldwell is an Anaesthetist at Wakefield Hospital and is also a Consultant at Capital Anaesthesia & Associates Ltd in Crofton Downs, Wellington. She is the Treasurer for the NZSA Executive Committee. As Treasurer, she oversees the finances of the organisation and works with the Chief Executive to ensure audited and accurate accounts are presented to the Board. She also proposes and maintains fiscal responsibility on the Executive. The Executive is ultimately responsible for the financial management of the Society and the Treasurer provides oversight for this.

Cathy, who works in private practice, is also a member of our Private Practice Network. This entails helping us produce resources for private practice and attending meetings, such as our quarterly meetings with ACC.

She was the Co-convenor of the 2022 Combined Scientific Congress held in Wellington.

Renee Franklin is a Consultant Anaesthetist in Tauranga. She works in both public and private practice. Renee is the clinical lead for the pre-assessment clinic at Tauranga Hospital and has a strong interest in perioperative medicine. She is the NZSA’s perioperative representative and a member of the NZ Perioperative Network and the Perioperative Medicine SIG Executive. Renee was part of our organising committee for the NZSA conference held in October 2020 in Wellington.

Jonathan Panckhurst is a Consultant Anaesthetist at Nelson Hospital. He is keen to represent the anaesthetic interests and issues of regional centres, and to project these at a national level. Jonathan holds the NZSA Education portfolio and is the Chair of the Aotearoa New Zealand Anaesthesia Education Committee.

Lynette McGaughran is a Consultant Anaesthetist at Tauranga Hospital. A pre-medical role as an Anaesthetic Technician has led to a continued interest in supporting and advocating for the anaesthetic assistant workforce. She holds this portfolio within her role at Tauranga Hospital and is holds the Assistant to the Anaesthetists portfolio on the NZSA Executive.

Hannah Middleton is a Trainee Representative on the Executive Committee. She is an Anaesthetic Registrar in her AT2 year on the southern scheme, currently working at Christchurch Public Hospital.

Sarah Tomlinson is a Trainee Representative on the Executive Committee. She is currently in AT1 on the Midlands training programme working in Waikato Hospital.

NZSA Staff

The NZSA team is responsible for the operational functions of the organisation which includes supporting our members. We are at the other end of the phone or on email.

View More