NZSA Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the NZSA is the Governing Board of the organisation.

NZSA Executive Committee

Dr Sheila Hart

NZSA President, Wellington

NZSA President November 2020–November 2022

Sheila Hart is a Consultant Anaesthetist at Capital and Coast DHB.  As the President Sheila represents NZSA’s view to government agencies, represents us at various councils and committees of our affiliated organisations, and is our spokesperson for the profession, advocating for patient safety and the wellbeing of New Zealand anaesthetists. 

She has been involved in various advocacy issues for the NZSA and assists in coordinating the Airway Leads Network.

Sheila is the co-convenor for the ASA/NZSA 2022 Combined Scientific Congress meeting in Wellington and is also the Deputy Clinical Director of the Anaesthesia and Pain Department at Wellington, CCDHB.

Dr Morgan Edwards

NZSA Vice President, Auckland

Morgan Edwards is a Consultant Anaesthetist at North Shore Hospital. Morgan was a previous NZSA Trainee Rep and now holds the NZSA portfolio for Assistants to the Anaesthetist. Morgan is Deputy Chair of our obstetrics network NOA and has produced online content to provide guidance to women on epidurals.  She also assists with our social media platforms and is a talented designer and photographer who has contributed to the design of our resources.

As the President Elect, she deputises for the President when required and attends meetings and events on her behalf.

Dr Cathy Caldwell

Treasurer and Private Practice representative, Wellington

Cathy Caldwell is an Anaesthetist at Wakefield Hospital and is also a Consultant at Capital Anaesthesia & Associates Ltd in Crofton Downs, Wellington. She is the Treasurer for the NZSA Executive Committee. As Treasurer, she oversees the finances of the organisation and works with the Chief Executive to ensure audited and accurate accounts are presented to the Board.  She also proposes and maintains fiscal responsibility on the Executive.  The Executive is ultimately responsible for the financial management of the Society and the Treasurer provides oversight for this. 

Cathy, who works in private practice, is also a member of our Private Practice Network. This entails helping us produce resources for private practice and attending meetings, such as our quarterly meetings with ACC.

Dr Malcolm Stuart

Malcolm Stuart is a Consultant Anaesthetist based in Wellington and served as NZSA Treasurer from October 2015 to May 2021. He is in private practice and spends a lot of time travelling around the remote areas of the South Island on a mobile surgical bus. 

Dr Renee Franklin

Executive Member, Tauranga

Renee Franklin is a Consultant Anaesthetist in Tauranga.  She works in both public and private practice.  Renee is the clinical lead for the pre-assessment clinic at Tauranga Hospital and has a strong interest in perioperative medicine.  She is the NZSA's perioperative representative and a member of the NZ Perioperative Network and the Perioperative Medicine SIG Executive. Renee was part of our organising committee for the NZSA conference held in October 2020 in Wellington. 

Dr Jonathan Panckhurst

Executive Member, Nelson

Jonathan Panckhurst is a Consultant Anaesthetist at Nelson Hospital. He is keen to represent the anaesthetic interests and issues of regional centres, and to project these at a national level.  Jonathan holds the NZSA Education portfolio and is the incoming chair of the Aotearoa New Zealand Anaesthesia Education Committee.

Dr Lynette McGaughran

Lynette McGaughran is a Consultant Anaesthetist at Tauranga Hospital. A pre-medical role as an Anaesthetic Technician has led to a continued interest in supporting and advocating for the anaesthetic assistant workforce. She holds this portfolio within her role at Tauranga Hospital, and now on the national executive with NZSA.

Dr Caroline Ariaens

Executive Member

Caroline Ariaens is a Consultant Anaesthetist at Waikato Hospital.  She is also our representative on the National Obstetric Anaesthesia Network and has produced online content to provide guidance to women on breastfeeding.  

Dr Mikaela Garland

Deputy Trainee Rep, Waikato

Mikaela Garland is the NZSA's Trainee Representative on the Executive Committee.  She is based at the Waikato DHB.



Dr Aidan Ward

Deputy Trainee Rep

Aidan Ward is the NZSA's Deputy Trainee Representative on the Executive Committee.  He is based at the Waikato DHB.

The Executive Committee is made up of

President, Immediate Past President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary and six elected members. Extra members can be co-opted between AGMs as per the NZSA constitution. The trainee roles are a shared portfolio.
We welcome interest from members who would like to find out how they could join the Executive and/or contribute to specific projects. Please contact