NZ Anaesthetists volunteer their time on our Executive Committee to represent NZSA members. A President is elected every two to three years to provide leadership and governance to NZSA.

From left to right: David Kibblewhite (Past President 2015-2018), Kathryn Hagen (Immediate Past President 2018-2020),  Sheila Hart (President 2020-2022)

Welcome to the New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists

The New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists (NZSA) represents and supports the community of medically registered anaesthetists in New Zealand and promotes the safety of their patients.  Our mission is to serve our members by facilitating education, providing advocacy and support for their wellbeing, and supporting optimal care of their patients.  

We promote continuing education, research and innovation for those working in the field of anaesthesia – anaesthetists, technicians, nurses, allied health professionals, and technology companies to ensure patient safety. 

Since its inception in 1948, the NZSA has been a voice for New Zealand anaesthetists, in particular on issues unique to New Zealand.  We communicate with government agencies on issues such as drug availability, funding, workforce, and respond to concerns over alternative providers of anaesthesia. We also offer the “Relative Value Guide” (RVG), a template for funding Private Practice Anaesthesia.

The NZSA has strong global connections and is a very active participant in the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists (New Zealanders occupy two of the seven positions on the Executive Committee of WFSA). Our Global Development Committee has close links with our Pacific Island colleagues, and Society members have undertaken work to improve anaesthesia and resuscitation equipment in the Pacific region.  Members also provide locum cover so that anaesthetists from the Pacific can attend conferences.

The NZSA is an active participant in tripartite Australasian anaesthetic initiatives: Australia and New Zealand Tripartite Anaesthetic Data Collection Committee (ANZTADC); the Australasian Continuing Education Coordinating Committee (ACECC), and the NZSA President regularly attends meetings of the Australian Society of Anaesthetists (ASA) and the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA).